WHY I LOVE BACKPACKING

This is the photo of a lonely Polar bear in the zoo taken by Nguyen Tien Lam, one member of a group of six “young and wild” people who have traveled together in a crazy trip to Singapore two year ago.

Photo taken by NGUYEN TIEN LAM
Edited by KHANH HOA VO THI

Is there any connection between a polar bear and the love for backpacking? I must say it is much more than you have thought. Is the bear happy? He has a warm place to sleep, stable food resources, a private icy swimming pool. All he has to do is eating, sleeping, walking around and stop worrying about severe conditions of North Pole winter.

However, as you can see, the bear looks very unhappy. Do you wonder why? Day by day many unfamiliar creatures round up him, making loud noises, taking pictures, pointing and laughing at him. The bear would rather be in his homeland where he can be free, running from one iceberg to another. It is true that he can miss some seals and be hungry for a long time but he is willing to take risks for that worthy life.

Are you willing to pay money for being taken to enormous shopping malls, dropped at some historical sites with a short visit time and superficial introductions? I think most of the time the answer is YES because you do not have to concern about getting lost, buying travel insurances and eating issues. Are you easy to satisfy with poor experiences which economic people thrown for you like feeding caged animals?

I would rather pack and go, after doing careful research as well as asking for advices from wise people who have traveled on their own. I would rather start some conversations with local people to really understand their beautiful cultural heritages.

If all you want is just lazily lying on your cozy bed, you would rather stay at home. One last thing, enjoy your life and stop degrading people who dare to roam the roads.

All the photos, graphics and contents on this page are our own creations unless stated otherwise
Ho Chi Minh city, Viet Nam
8 thoughts on “WHY I LOVE BACKPACKING

  1. The poor polar bear. Maybe he was just looking unhappy at that moment…but you never really know 😦 I remember my trips to the zoo and aquarium a few months ago in Melbourne. The animals there didn’t look overly happy 😦 But on a brighter note, backpacking and wandering around on your own, left to your own devices, can certainly be fun. So much spontaneity and you can go down any path you like 🙂 ❤

    • Dear Mabel, I watched the polar bear for a while and he was unhappy due to the crowd and hot weather. I love the zoo very much but I wonder whether the animals are comfortable or not 😦 My parents are worried all the time whenever I go travel without any agency but I love to be free ❤

    • I hope we can share more and more about the wanderlust inside us. I must admit that you have a wonderful blog with bountiful posts that I would love to read thoroughly ❤

      • Thank you! I say the same about yours! So good when we find “travel soulmates”, even if just virtually 🙂 My blog is mainly for photography though, while yours is full of beautifully inspiring words!

Can we share our opinions ? :)

